Swedish Rite regalia

As mentioned earlier, I visited the exhibition on freemasonry here in Århus. The catalogue has pictures of the mannequins wearing regalia, which I would like share here (I have no scanner, so I had to shoot pictures; the files are approx. 500kb each). Gloves are worn in all degrees, and hat is worn by all from III degree and up. The tradition of wearing tails is only used in Denmark and Iceland; Norway and Sweden also allows black suit and tie.

  • I-III is the St. John’s lodge (Craft). The flap is worn up for the Apprentice.
  • IV-VI is the St. Andrew’s lodge (Scots degrees).
  • VII-XI is Chapter. In addition to these, the Sovereign Grand Master (XII) has his own apron and sash. There is also a seperate sash (white and gold) for members of the Supreme Council (who are all XI).
7 thoughts on “Swedish Rite regalia

  1. In my jurisdiction (Oregon, USA), we are required to wear the apron as the outermost piece of clothing. I have had mixed feelings about this requirement, as there is, for example, a portrait of George Washington wearing his with a jacket over, and wearing them outermost with certain jackets causes constant readjusting after sitting and standing. However, I have never seen aprons worn with the jacket overlapping them this much before. I think in this case, I would have preferred the apron to be outermost so that I could observe the edges and embroidered work on the flaps of these aprons.

    Either way, these are quite impressive – I recognize the I-III aprons as familiar, although they are not the same style used here (only the 1st is what we use all the way through the 3rd, though worn in differing manners), and the IV-V apron looks something similar to our old-style Knight Templar aprons which are no longer in use, differing in that they are triangular shaped aprons. The rest are unknown to me, but all look very good!

  2. I agree that they appear too covered up here, but I think that is down to a) the fact that they are placed on slim mannequins; the jackets don’t usually close this tight, but rather reveal the vest (this is how it looks on me: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=821643&l=cbdf7&id=628286812 ), and b) they are simply placed too high (done by museum curators, rather than masons). In fact, how the apron is revealed by the cut of the jacket is one of the best arguments for wearing tails.

  3. Fraternal greetings Brother,

    I belonged to a Scottish lodge, and within the Scottish Constitution, we have a tradition of wearing the apron underneath the jacket 9of course within the Scottish Constitutions, each lodge does decide how they want to war it). This is actually a hang-over from the operative traditons.

    An explanantion of this, is when a mason is at work, he put on his apron and the jacket is simply a garment from which he can put on when the weather is cold and take off when the weather turns too warm. With the apron put on this way, he can conveniently takes the jacket off or put it on as he chooses it. That is why, we wear it as such to reflect the humble operatives beginnings of the Scottish Craft 🙂

    Regards
    Bro Roughesler

  4. Care Frater Thomas,

    I should show you a photo of Strict Obervance regalia to contrast with Rectified Rite and Swedish Rite variations.

    Yours In LVX,

    “Sanare et Ignoscere”

Leave a Reply

