Affirmation

Yesterday I took up running again, and as I was nearing home, I made a big decision – one of those big, Real Life ones. It was clear to me that the physical exercise was part of making that pivotal jump. I am a person who lives very much in the mind, and the grounding/movement that takes place when I run is important in helping me not get stuck in mental inertia.

I went out again today, and I was listening to Coldplay‘s Viva la Vida, and there’s a line that catches my ear, and makes me smile … and these muscular contractions “opens up my inner ear” some how, and improves the sound, and I get a real kick as the lyric just then goes

No I don’t wanna battle from beginning to end
I don’t want a cycle of recycled revenge
I don’t wanna follow Death and all of his friends

That’s a good message, and as my life is taking a turn a promise, an affirmation to make.

Now, at the moment I was listening, I was actually thinking about some of the current exchanges that goes on in several American Masonic blogs (and their comments section), between a handful of people (talk about a cycle of recycled revenge). How it is a trench warfare – lots of casualties, a lot of mud, a bleak and barren wasteland left behind, and it doesn’t go anywhere. I was thinking about taking a critical stand about it on this blog, even though it has always been my philosophy to keep it clean, focused on the positive aspects of freemasonry and my personal spiritual journey.

But with that sensation, body and mind, I had a change of heart. And maybe if that handful of brothers would “open their ears” and listen, there would be less grief. So here it is: I don’t want to take sides, because it’s all bullshit.

I don’t wanna follow Death and all of his friends.

Images: Dante Tarot (Andrea Serio & Giordano Berti) and still from the movie ‘Verdun, visions d’histoire’ (directed by Léon Poirier, 1928).
Leave a Reply

