First lucid dream

DVD-cover for Waking LifeLast night I had my first experience with lucid dreaming, something that I had been wanting to try since watching Richard Linklaters groovy animated feature, Waking Life. I tried the “scientific” approach last spring, following Stephen LaBerge’s book, Exploring the World of Lucid Dreaming, but lost control over my sleeping hours when our baby boy was born. But once you start thinking about the subject, you are already opening yourself to the experince, and according to others it is likely to happen sooner or later of its own accord, as it did. From Wikipedia:

A lucid dream is a dream in which the person is aware that he or she is dreaming while the dream is in progress. During lucid dreams, it is often possible to exert conscious control over the dream characters and environment, as well as to perform otherwise physically impossible feats.

Briefly, I was standing on a ledge, afraid to jump as I was supposed to, but I argued to myself that it was just a stunt, and not really dangerous, and anyway it was just a dream … waitaminute, just a dream? And that was it! I stepped off and decided to fly instead of falling. I had a little trouble controlling the flight and ended up in a stairwell with little room to maneuver, but by the end, I went to the outer atmosphere (or whatever the outer layers are called) and hovered for a second, re-entering in a completely new location above the earth (because the earth had rotated fast below me; I got this idea from a comic book :-). And that was it – I woke up feeling exhilerated and ready to go again.

Very interesting.

Leave a Reply

